Read more:

Friday, May 27, 2011

India Tours West Indies - Schedule, Teams

Gambhir, Yuvraj out; Raina to lead ODI team in West Indies

Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh will not tour the West Indies due to fitness problems. Suresh Raina has been named India's captain for the ODI leg of the tour and Harbhajan Singh will be his deputy.
Sachin Tendulkar, who had earlier opted out of the ODIs, will also skip the Test series. Virat Kohli and Abhinav Mukund have been named in the Test squad.

For the ODIs, Shikhar Dhawan and Manoj Tiwary have been brought in place of the injured duo.
VVS Laxman will be the Test vice-captain. Gambhir has an injured shoulder, but it is learnt that Yuvraj excused himself from the tour due to a lung infection. Tendulkar has requested for some time away from cricket before India tour England later this season.

Zaheer Khan and captain MS Dhoni had opted out of the ODIs, but will be available for the Tests.
Tamil Nadu's Mukund had an impressive Ranji Trophy season. In nine matches, he made 620 runs with a highest score of 232 at an average of 56.36. Dhawan played his only ODI against Australia in October 2010 where he scored a blob. Tiwary played his only ODI against Australia in February 2008 and scored two runs.

Test squad:

MS Dhoni (capt), VVS Laxman (vc), M Vijay, Abhinav Mukund, Rahul Dravid, Virat Kohli, S Badrinath, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Sreesanth, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel.

Limited-overs squad:

Suresh Raina (capt), R Ashwin, S Badrinath, Harbhajan Singh (vc), Virat Kohli, Praveen Kumar, Amit Mishra, Munaf Patel, Parthiv Patel (wk), Yusuf Pathan, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Vinay Kumar, Manoj Tiwary, Shikhar Dhawan.   

No comments :

Post a Comment